Skip to Main Content
Follow us

Regional Advisory Committee 1 Members

British Columbia, Alberta, Yukon Territory and the Northwest Territories

Members of Council

Douglas M. Hedden, MD, FRCSC (Edmonton, AB)
Chair of Regional Advisory Committee (RAC) 1
(RAC Chair email inboxes are monitored by Royal College staff)

Dr. Douglas Hedden received his medical degree followed by his orthopedic training at Queens’s University in Kingston. He completed a pediatric orthopedic fellowship at the University of Toronto at the Hospital for Sick Children with a special interest in spinal deformity. He followed this with further training in Boston at the Massachusetts General Hospital where he completed a research fellowship through the Harvard University program. More

David Ross, MD, FRCSC (Edmonton, AB)
Dr. David Ross lives in Edmonton where he practises pediatric and adult cardiac surgery and is the Director of the Division of Cardiac Surgery at the University of Alberta.


Vincent Arockiasamy, MRCPI, FRCPC (Prince George, BC)
Dr. Vincent Arockiasamy graduated from St. John’s Medical College, Bangalore University, India. He completed his training in pediatrics in Ireland and obtained membership in the Royal College of Physicians of Ireland. He completed his fellowship training in neonatal-perinatal medicine at the University of British Columbia. Currently he is a pediatrician and a Clinical Education Leader with the Northern Medical Program, University of Northern British Columbia, Prince George, BC. He is engaged in leadership roles in pediatric undergraduate and post-graduate education.

Marian Berry, MD, FRCPC (Kootenays, BC and Yellowknife, NT)
Dr. Marian Berry trained at McMaster University, University of Western Ontario and University of British Columbia (UBC). She has worked on staff at UBC and Guelph University. She has been practising neurology in rural B.C. in the Kootenays since 1997 and in Yellowknife since 2010. Her areas of expertise include EMG and Botox injections.

Ravinder Dennis, Bhui, MD, FRCSC (Surrey, BC)

Earl Campbell, MD, FRCSC (Calgary, AB)

William E. Code, MD, FRCPC (Duncan, BC)
Dr. William Code, a University of Saskatchewan grad, trained in anesthesiology in Calgary and has practiced clinical anesthesiology in all three western provinces. He has a keen interest in pain management.

Michel Sauvé, MD, FRCPC Internal Medicine, FRCPC Critical Care Medicine, FACP, FCCP, Master Clinical Epidemiology and Biostitics (Fort McMurray, AB)
Dr. Michel Sauvé has practiced as a general internist in the remote northern Alberta community of Fort McMurray since 1991. He is certified in internal medicine, critical care, and gastroenterology.

Lynn Simpson, MD, FRCSC (Vancouver, BC)
Dr. Lynn Simpson is an obstetrician gynecologist who works part-time in ambulatory gynaecology teaching the medical students and doing research. She practises at St. Paul’s Hospital and is a clinical associate professor at University of British Columbia. Lynn is also an auditor for the Billing Integrity Program of the British Columbia government.

Kent Stobart, MD, MSc, FRCPC (Edmonton, AB)

University representative

Bill Dafoe, MD, FRCPC (Edmonton, AB)
Dr. Bill Dafoe, a McMaster University grad, trained at the University of Minnesota in physical medicine and rehabilitation. His clinical work involves cardiac rehabilitation and secondary prevention. Bill’s medical education involvement includes continuous professional learning and more recently faculty development.

CPD Educators

Steve Simpson, MD, FRCPC (Calgary, AB)
Dr. Simpson completed a PhD in Biochemistry in Cardiff in Wales, before undertaking post-doctoral studies in physiology at the University of Manitoba and working in biotechnology in Virginia. More

Rod McFadyen, MD, FRCPC (Victoria, British Columbia)
Dr. Rod McFadyen received his MD degree from the University of Manitoba in 1978. He has practised emergency medicine at the Royal Jubilee and Victoria General Hospitals since 1989. He is a clinical professor in the Department of Emergency Medicine at the University of British Columbia. More

Contact us

Douglas M. Hedden, MD, FRCSC, Chair
(RAC Chair email inboxes are monitored by Royal College staff)

Kora McNulty, Administrative Coordinator, Membership Services  1-800-668-3740 ext. 173