Skip to Main Content
Follow us

Honorary Fellows

The Royal College invites exceptional physicians, surgeons and lay persons who are not eligible for Fellowship to become Honorary Fellows. Up to four Honorary Fellows can be appointed per year by the Royal College Council. There is a long-standing tradition of offering Honorary Fellowship to the governor general of Canada, the patron of the Royal College, at the commencement of the term of office.

Nominations for Honorary Fellowships can be submitted by any Fellow of the Royal College, as well as by Council members, specialty committees, specialty societies, senior academics and others. The call for nominations is usually issued in the fall, with Honorary Fellows selected by Council at its February meeting.

Honorary Fellows typically receive their Fellowship diploma at Convocation, at a meeting of Council or at another appropriate Royal College event.

2015 Honorary Fellows

Alain Beaudet, MD, PhD

President, Canadian Institutes of Health Research

Nominated for exceptional contributions to research and scholarship, and innovation and leadership in health research.

Among his many accomplishments, Dr. Beaudet built a distinguished career at the Montreal Neurological Institute pursuing basic research and leading as its associate director of research from 1985 to 1992. Dr. Beaudet has received several grants and distinctions, including that of Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada. In 2011, he was made a Knight of the National Order of Quebec, the highest honour awarded by the government of Quebec. Since 2008, he has served as the president of the Canadian Institutes of Health Research (CIHR). Before joining CIHR, he was the president and CEO of the Fonds de la recherche en santé du Québec (FRSQ). Dr. Beaudet obtained his medical degree and a PhD in neuroscience from the Université de Montréal.

A. Brent Eastman, MD, FACS

N. Paul Whittier Chair of Trauma and Chief Medical Officer, Emeritus, Scripps Health San Diego, California Clinical Professor of Surgery (Trauma), University of California San Diego

Nominated for exceptional contributions in trauma research, teaching and patient care, and for volunteer contributions to the profession.

A general, vascular and trauma surgeon, Dr. Eastman is an international leader in trauma and emergency surgical care. He is a former chief medical officer of Scripps Health in La Jolla, California, and the inaugural N. Paul Whittier endowed chair of trauma. Dr. Eastman has been instrumental in developing trauma systems worldwide, including in Argentina, Australia, Brazil, Canada, England, India, Mexico, Pakistan and South Africa. He is an active member of the American College of Surgeons (ACS), where he was president in 2012 and served on the Board of Regents for many years. One of his top priorities as president was invigorating the century-old alliance between American and Canadian surgeons, which he considered a foundational strength of ACS.

Paul Grand’Maison, MD, MSc, FCFPC, FCAHS

Director, Office of International Relations, Faculty of Medicine and Health Sciences, Université de Sherbrooke, Sherbrooke, Quebec

Nominated for exceptional contributions to family medicine, medical education, social accountability and international outreach.

An MD and MSc (Université de Sherbrooke and University of Western Ontario, respectively), Dr. Grand’Maison describes himself as “a family physician by profession, a teacher by vocation, a medical educator by passion, an administrator by evolution.” In the 1990s, he was a world leader in the use of objective structured clinical examinations (OSCEs) for high-stakes purposes such as practice licence and certification. He has held many leadership positions in medical education at Université de Sherbrooke (including vice-dean for undergraduate education, 2002-2011) as well as provincially, nationally and internationally. A recipient of numerous prestigious awards, he has been a Fellow of the Canadian Academy of Health Sciences since 2005.

Contact us
Royal College Services Centre
Telephone: 613-730-6243; toll-free 1-800-461-9598

The Royal College Services Centre is here to help.